Long Island Town Histories - Hempstead [Nassau Co.]

Hempstead (N.Y. : Town)   [Originally included North Hempstead Town; later became, and
             was formerly named, South Hempstead Town )

             Note:  Hempstead Town was part of Queens County until 1899.   During the American
                          Revolution, the northern patriot-leaning part of the town broke away from the
                           heavily loyalist-leaning southern part of the town.  In 1784, North Hempstead was
                           officially recognized by New York State as a separate town.  In 1900, Hempstead,
                          North Hempstead, and Oyster Bay Towns, having voted not to become part of
                          greater New York City, joined to form the new County of Nassau.   Nassau Island
                          had been a colonial Dutch name for Long Island.

             See also  L.I. -- County Histories web page
             See also  L.I. -- Villages -- Nassau County web page
             See also  Nassau County History web page 
             See also  Outer Islands (of L.I.)  web page
             See also  Queens County History

---  PML Catalog Sampler: