- In the Local History Room, books are divided into 2 basic collections, Long Island Reference (LI REF) and New York State Reference (NY REF). Both collections use the Dewey Decimal System. Above the stacks are black and white numbers. Stacks 1-7 are LI REF. NY REF continues with 7-8.
- LI REF 970 to 973.0497 and 974.721 R-LI4 REA 1-8 (Readings in L.I. Archaeology and Ethnohistory) are good starting points for research. But, village, town, county and state records and histories, as well as genealogical (mainly 920's) and biographical sources (B) and histories of L.I's outer islands. (974.725 I- ). These sources often contain material on Long Island Indians, of varying length, uneven scholarship, and frequently biased.
- Genealogies in the Room are now listed online on our website at: https://digitalpml.pmlib.org/Genealogy_Catalog/genealogy_PML_LI_NY.pdf
- Cemetery Registers and histories of religious institutions
- Books on Whaling
- NY REF features histories and themes in state history, as well as histories or records, at the state, NYS region, county, municipal levels (including histories of NYC and its boroughs). Selected military and genealogical materials are probably among the most useful to researchers.
- Due to the Room's space limits, half the LI REF and three-fourths of NY REF is in storage. But all works are listed in the Library Catalog (search box is in the upper left).
Historical Periodicals & Newspapers
- The cumulative Long Island Forum Index [1938-2003] is online and searchable, leading to hundreds of articles written for a popular audience. Bibliographies and notes tend to be brief at best, but became more frequent in the final few decades. But, there is a mine of information available here, though scholarship is a bit uneven. Searches respond best to the fewest words. We have bound copies of the entire run of the Long Island Forum, 1938-2004, available in the Room. Note: The 2004 series was never completed, and there was no index for that year. We were restricted to use of extant indexes, by the publisher.
- The Room contains most issues of Long Island Historical Journal (which, after it ceased publication, was replaced online [only] by the Long Island History Journal). Both are publications of SUNY at Stony Brook's History Department and contributing authors.
- We also have a broken run of the Nassau County Historical Society Journal [1977-2016].
- The Patchogue and (after 1973) Patchogue-Medford High School Record, [1929-2016] are available in the Room, though Seton Hall High School yearbooks are in storage.
- Two valuable sources, available online, are New York State Historic Newspapers: Suffolk County, New York (formerly known as Suffolk Historic Newspapers) and the Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online, 1841-1955 (now part of Brooklyn Newsstand). The Eagle's coverage included all of L.I. These are both accessible on our Historic LI Newspapers webpage.
- The Long Island and Patchogue Vertical File Subject Heading Index is found on the Local History homepage. There is also a general heading for "L.I. – Indians" in the LI Vertical File, which features 41 sub-headings, and many of these have their own subheadings. Additional related files can be found, using Control + F[ind], which calls up a search box. The files have been heavily subdivided to offer researchers greater precision, and more rapid access to relevant material.
- A number of LI Vertical Files under "LI—Archaeology…" include material on Indian sites and material culture. See also "L.I. - Forts and Fortifications…" which include some Indian forts which probably served other ceremonial and practical purposes. Also see "L.I. - Whales and Whaling".
Digital PML (Archival Material)
- Red Thunder Cloud. Rare Eastern Indian Photo Series, [Set 1], (digitized courtesy of South Huntington Public Library)
- Red Thunder Cloud. Rare Eastern Indian Photo Series, Set 2 . (Celia M. Hasting Local History Room)
- Red Thunder Cloud. Rare Eastern Indian Photo Series, Set 3 . (Celia M. Hasting Local History Room)
- All of these sets may be searched individually or these and the other collections of Digital PML can be simultaneously searched (using the Search feature)
Maps & Gazeteers
- The map case features a map of Indian Long Island.
- The Vingboons Map of Manhattan shows a bit of Brooklyn, with both wigwams and longhouses.
- There is a set of maps of sections Southold Town depicting various types of Indian sites.
- Some other maps show occasional references to various Indian lands.
- William Wallace Tooker's Indian Place Names on Long Island, and Islands Adjacent: With Their Probable Significations. Sag Harbor, NY: Pub. For the John Jermain Memorial Library, 1911. - The operable word is probable. Possible may be more the case. But, it's what is generally used.
Other Online Sources
- Our Local History homepage includes general orientation material in the center, including a link to Long Island & New York State Genealogical Resources in the Celia M. Hastings Local History Room, as well as Selected Links from the PML Local History Website
- Also included is the Local History Website Summary Sheet, which provides a general overview of how the website is organized, and its major subheadings.
- Also of potential interest to genealogists (in the left-hand column) is Records of Men from Patchogue and Vicinity Who Took Part in the World War [A World War I Veterans' Survey], which was conducted by the Patchogue Village Historian and entered into a scrapbook. Entries are searchable generally, and by surname. Some veterans provided photos of themselves, wrote additional information on the reverse of the small survey sheet, or added letters, postcards of where they had been, other photos, and even a formal report. The Historian had only recently retired as Patchogue's first Superintendent of Schools. So, he knew many of them personally, which is sometimes evident in their respectful and affectionate remarks.